Nānākuli-Wai’anae Complex Area

Waianae High School Principal Recognized for Excellence in Leadership

Several Hawaii public school principals have been nominated for the Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award — a kudos that includes a $1,000 cash prize.

Several special guests were at the ceremony on April 7, 2018, including Department of Education Deputy Superintendent Phyllis Unebasami, Sens. Laura Thielen, Michelle Kidani and Donna Mercado Kim, and Rep. Richard Onishi. 

The 14 qualifying public school principals are:

  • Dale Arakaki of Pauoa Elementary

  • Sharon Beck of Ka`u High and Pahala Elementary

  • Stacey Bello of Keaukaha Elementary

  • Erik Burkman of Kalaheo Elementary

  • Alfredo Carganilla of Farrington High

  • Danny Garcia of Kohala Elementary

  • Disa Hauge of Waianae High

  • Catherine Kilborn of Baldwin High

  • Robin Martin of Moanalua High

  • Cindy Otsu of Kapolei Elementary

  • James Rippard of Kailua Elementary

  • Aaron Tominaga of Lehua Elementary

  • Bernadette Tyrell of Castle High

  • Corinne Yogi of Kipapa Elementary

The principal to win the top prize will get $15,000 designated for a school project of their choosing and an additional $10,000 cash award. Two semifinalists will each receive a $2,000 personal cash award.

The winning principal will be announced at the Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation  dinner on Thursday, April 19th.